Faculty Training

ICCOC Mentor Trainers

Mentor Trainers are available at each partner college to assist faculty with online course development and technical questions when developing or working on online, hybrid and web-enhanced, face-to face courses.
 
Mentor-trainers are responsible for providing leadership and training services to online instructors at their respective colleges.
 
Responsibilities include collaborating with ICCOC Instructional Designer and Training Specialist, Ann Jenkins, to plan campus and Consortium training initiatives and to serve in an advisory role in providing input to the Oversight Committee.
Eastern Iowa 
Iowa Lakes
Southwestern
Pam Bass
pbass@eicc.edu
563-441-4270
 
Dan Baldwin
dbaldwin@eicc.edu
 
Richard Boyer
rboyer@eicc.edu
 
Heidi Hilbert
hhilbert@eicc.edu  
563-336-5238
 
Gabe Knight
gknight@eicc.edu 
 
Shirley Turnis
sturnis@eicc.edu
 
Beth Wood
bwood@eicc.edu
563-244-7134
Carol Ayres
cayres@iowalakes.edu
712-330-3647 
 
Renee Jedlicka 
rjedlicka@iowalakes.edu
712-852-5269
Holly Booth
booth@swcciowa.edu 
641-782-1470
 
Josh Borgmann
borgmann@swcciowa.edu
641-782-1477
Western Iowa Tech
Northwest Iowa
Honore Pittenger
honore.pittenger@witcc.edu
712-281-3939
Gretchen Bartelson (Interim)
gbartelson@nwicc.edu
(712) 324-5061 x170

Dorothy DeGroot
dadegroot@nwicc.edu
Southeastern
Lee Skeens
lskeens@scciowa.edu 
319-208-5233

ICCOC Online Training Courses

Two online classes are availble to faculty who teach for a consortium school partner college. These courses have been designed by Pearson and the ICCOC.  Please contact your home college Dean or Director of Distance Learning to register for one of these courses.
Instructors are required to contact their Distance Learning Dean or Director to enroll in this course.  
 
All enrollments must go through your college Distance Learning Personnel. 
EDU-101A   Developing Online Courses 
EDU-101B    Teaching Online Courses
Course Outcomes are the specific and measurable statements of learning to occur in the course. In EDU101A, learners will:
 
  • Recognize effective practices for online course development
  • (Assessed via all Unit Quizzes)
  • Discuss effective practices for online course development
  • (Assessed via all Unit Discussions)
  • Use LearningStudio tools from a student perspective
  • (Assessed via the submission of the Email, Journal, Doc Sharing, Dropbox, Webliography, Discussion, and Quiz activities)
  • Construct a course in the LearningStudio platform that meets effective practices for online course development
  • (Assessed via the submission of a demonstration course for review within 1 month of the course end date)
  • Complete the eCertification Exam with a score of 80% or higher
  • (Assessed via the score of 80% or higher on the Unit 4 eCertification Exam)
This course is for instructors/teachers who wish to gain requisite knowledge and skills to teach within the system. In the course, instructors will be provided with basic training relevant to using appropriate strategies and tools to teach online courses using the eCollege platform.
 
In addition to exploring the theories of online education, the course covers the use of teaching, communication and assessment tools, the tactics of managing online courses, and the techniques of modifying and/or personalizing an existing online course.
 
After completing this course, participants will be able to:
 
  • Demonstrate an understanding of the theories relevant to online education.
  • Demonstrate proficiency in using eCollege platform communication, teaching, and assessment tools.
  • Demonstrate knowledge of available Help and information resources.
  • Demonstrate knowledge of effectively managing online courses.
  • Demonstrate proficiency in facilitating and building an online learning community.
 
The Developing Online Courses training course requires a new, empty course shell where instructors will apply what they are learning during the course to develop their upcoming course.
 
Instructor home college personnel are responsible for creating new course shells (with templates) for each instructor before enrolling instructors in this development course.